Don’t wait up for me love.

A rocket ship,

a three-pronged squid,

a red cone hat and three red tights.

Inside, a spaceman on his virgin flight.

Don’t wait up for me love.

The scientists spin their pencils,

Nails gnawed to the end.

Beeps on a screen,

flash like stars in the sky.

Don’t wait up for me love.

The wall in front of our pioneer

stares him down. A photograph stuck to the wall.

Wife with their child in her arms.

A tear falls, pulled down by the earth.

Don’t wait up for me love.

‘To Mars!’ they said. The red planet!

‘Ooh!’ ‘Aah!’ The crowds bayed with anticipation.

It was him, chosen from a million.

Our hero, proud and humbled, unable to move.

Don’t wait up for me love.

Fire scorches the earth below,

the engines scream at the earth:

“Let us go!”

Painfully, slowly, they part like reluctant lovers.

Don’t wait up for me love.

Through the window our hero sees the cold earth,

suspended in a black womb.

He is shot from the atmosphere into the deep.

Further than any man has ever gone before him.

Don’t wait up for me love,

I’m not coming back.

Leave a Reply

